GameStop Canada Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop Canada
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rage

RAGE is a groundbreaking first-person shooter set in the not-too-distant future after an asteroid impacts Earth, leaving a ravaged world behind. You emerge into this vast wasteland to discover humanity working to rebuild itself against such forces as raider gangs, mutants, and the Authority - an oppressive government regime that has a special interest in you in particular. Featuring intense first-person action, vehicle combat, an expansive world and jaw-dropping graphics powered by id's revolutionary idTech 5 technology. RAGE promises an experience like no other.Fearing a planet-wide extinction from a massive asteroid headed towards Earth, world leaders are faced with the inexorable task of ensuring human survival. Left with few alternatives, life-sustaining pods filled with select people are buried deep beneath the earth's surface. You are one of the chosen members of these modern day arks and abruptly enter the RAGE universe after surfacing alone. Leaving you to your own devices to stay alive in a world filled with those who prefer you dead, RAGE combines powerful storytelling with heart-pounding action.
Average Customer Rating:
7.3
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 1060%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rage
Review 1 for Rage
Great RENTAL game, not worth buying
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:15/10/11
James0741
Location: Saskatchewan
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I pre-ordered the game and got it on launch day, I beat it under two weeks which was sad since it was a Bethesda, it even took me more than that amount of time to beat Doom3. Overall though, I really wouldn't buy RAGE if I were you, it's a definite rent but not buy. Nobody plays multiplayer, at least on Xbox. The gameplay is fun but is repetitive when you get near the end but doesn't make you feel like going for a 2nd playthrough. The ending is really lame so seriously don't expect much out of the storyline and the ending. The graphics, animations and ID tech 5 engine are incredible, the visuals are top notch and character animations are beautiful. I'm sure if you rent this game you can get done before you have to take it back.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rage
A great Rental
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:09/10/11
AZZQ
Location: Calgary
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Dynamic combat and intelligent AI are fun, but it doesn't overlap the apparent issues with RAGE. Apart from the single player story, which lacks in both length and development, there's no replay value. Once the game is beat, there's really no reason to continue playing. The promise of a open world environment is half delivered, yes there is an open world, but enemies, once felled, do not return, making landmarks obsolete once completed. Upgrades to your arsenal, car, and armor are all available, but are easily purchased and need no special requirements to achieve, making them feel less important. The antagonists of the game aren't made clear until the near end of the game, making the ending a lot less satisfying. Overall, the game is fun, with great graphics but it appears ID and it's development team are still stuck in their DOOM days.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rage
Doom meets Fallout 3
Posted on:22/09/11
Bardock
Location: Montreal, QC
This is a complete change in game styles for id studios, the graphics are said to maybe be the best of any xbox 360 game up to date (I wouldn't be too sure about that). This game runs on a pretty powerful engine id tech 5, I am really excited to see how this will turn out and how the CO-OP will turn out, I have been looking forward to this game for months!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rage
Widespread Amazement
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:17/01/11
MustardTiger
Location: Your Moms House
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I see this game i know it may look like a lot of RPGs but its not as simple as that. Rage shows massive promise to a world filled with possibilities with guns, enemies, and vehicles. When I look at the overall game play, Rage reminds me of a mash up of Borderlands and Rachet and Clank. Which means a long lasting series of greatly anticipated games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
BulletStorm
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Canada
Top 500 Contributor
A Must Have!!!!
Posted 03/02/12
Rage is a great buy!! It's gamplay, details, guns and way of survival is amazing. This is truelly one of the best games I own, its not one of those quick storylines either. Took me a total of 15 hours to beat. If your someone who likes to poke around every corner and search everywhere this is a game u'll really need to have. Picture the the first time u played borderlands its like that but untill the very end!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Rage
well worth $20-10
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:06/08/12
valkarian
Location: london on
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is an amazing SHOOTER not an RPG like you might expect from Bethesda and ID but the races are great and vechile combat is cool so if you like shooters and rpgs and racing games then this is a mix of them all
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rage
fallout3/ borderlands
Posted on:08/07/11
SavageHornet
Location: Fort McMurray
this game looks like it is a cross of Fallout 3 and Borderlands, and I LOVE IT, those are 2 of my favourite games, so much exploration and stuff to do in those games so i cant wait for this one to come out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tall
Ontario,Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Tall is loaded.
Additional information about Tall could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Looks amazing!!
Posted 04/10/11
Cant wait for this game! Awesome grapics!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Rage
Disapointing.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/11
SteadyMercury
Location: Halifax, NS
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'd like to start off by saying I didn't pay alot of attention to this game prior to reading a couple reviews before buying it. After realizing it was from the studio that makes Doom and Quake and reading a couple reviews I purchased it expecting a real quality game, much like Quake 4 a game I regret trading in to this day.
Unfortunately !up, Teamxbox and other review sites do Id software a disservice by rating the game so high. Most review sites are giving it 8.5 or 9 and its simply not. I enjoy FPS, I enjoy RPGs and I've loved every game I've played from id before this.
This game is frustrating in that the open world concept isn't delivered. You drive through relatively bland canyons from place to place with enemies appearing at similar places each time. The areas you visit are often largely segments of a map from previous missions with a new path opening up partially through. The towns themselves are also frustrating, the lack of a minimap or compass makes finding stores very frustrating. It took me about 15 minutes to find the vendor in Subway Town. The lack of checkpoints just kills me. If you don't remember to save every 5 minutes your in for alot of disapointments. Checkpoints in games are basically an essential now. Not only does every game execute them almost seamlessly but the lack of checkpoints and the forced manual saving pulls you out of the action every time you get into the "zone". The story is largely non existant. All I know is I somehow ended up fighting for some rebel group against an authority no questions asked.
On the other hand the graphics are really pretty (certainly not the best the 360 has ever seen) I think ME3, Skyrim and BF3 all look as good or better. The enemy AI is fantastic, very dynamic and although it gets predictable that doesn't make it any less of a challenge to fight. You will die alot, hence why the lack of checkpoints is enfuriating.
Overall I'd say the game is decent. I'd expect something like this from a relatively unknown studio or a smaller one. Id software has set the bar so high in the past though that Rage really just falls flat. The best thing review sites could have done for the company would have been to tell it like it is instead of just drooling over the game because a legendary studio created it.
This game came out at a time where we have to decide between games like GoW3, BF3, COD MW 3, Skyrim, Halo and the list goes on. Honestly if this was a summer release it would be great but up against all these AAA titles I'd have rather spent my money on Forza 4 to hold me over. And I don't even like racing games that much.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rage
Very Short Game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:16/10/11
CourageInaCan
Location: Ontario
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game is over before you know it. I was lead to believe it's a free roam game but its not. Very very few side missions, even less weapons and upgrades. You can't really customize your character, at all. The game comes with 3 discs, 2 for campaign and 1 for multiplayer. I have no clue why it takes 2 discs for campaign, and the multiplayer sucks. The graphics and fast paced gameplay is fun, the enemies are fun to fight, but you can beat this game within a couple of hours. If you are able to beat a game within a couple of hours, I would say the price should be $20! If your going to get this game, wait for it to drop in price!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rage
Great concept, great gameplay!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:06/12/10
Natastmc
Location: Niagara
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played this on the iPhone 4, it is a great concept and I love it. One of my new favorites. If the console version come anywhere close to the iPhone version you won't be disappointed!! I can't wait to see & play this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
slotterman
Saskatoon, SK
 
Please wait while more information about slotterman is loaded.
Additional information about slotterman could not be loaded.
2 much space
Posted 17/08/11
watching attack of the show and they said its going to take up 22gb, ya you won't likely see me putting that game on the EB games counter and giving the cashier $60.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Rage
UNIQUE
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:31/08/12
thebestthereis
Location: Vancouver, BC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got the anarchy edition of this game for 20 bucks and i gotta say its pretty impressive. Sure the vehicle controls can be a bit wacky especially the brakes (you hold em too long and you go crashing backwards) but gameplay was great, the weapons were great although the sniper was a bit weak and it has a perfect storyline. At the end its something like call of duty and grand theft auto combined. at the end this is a great game well worth your money, i would recommend this to everyone in a heartbeat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Rage
Meh
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:06/10/11
DeadLock
Location: Canada
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The core concept of the game is cool, combat is nice, story? non existent. Haven't tried multi-player but it's just racing? I'd rather play forza. The campaign is REALLY absolutely short, Save your money, rent it. Not worth buying no matter how great the game looks
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rage
Great Game, Disapointing ending
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:20/12/12
Josherz
Location: Mississauga,ON
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall I thought this game was great, I enjoyed the crafting aspect of it, weapons were great and missions were fun. Downfalls were the multiplayer which I only played to get the achievements and the ending was short, abrupt and bad. But I would still recommend this game to my friends, and for achievement hunters this is a game that takes a bit of time to get 1000G but is very possibly.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for Rage
This game looks great!
Posted on:17/09/11
CourageInaCan
Location: Ontario
I loved Fallout3 and New Vegas. This looks like they updated all the graphics and hopefully faster paced gameplay. Anyone who is a fan of free roaming explorer games, will enjoy playing this!
 
My Product Recommendations