GameStop Canada Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop Canada
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LA Noire

Amid the post-war boom of Hollywood's Golden Age, Cole Phelps, an LAPD detective is thrown headfirst into a city drowning in its own success. Corruption is rampant, the drug trade is exploding, and murder rates are at an all-time high. In his fight to climb the ranks and do what's right, Phelps must unravel the truth behind a string of arson attacks, racketeering conspiracies and brutal murders, battling the L.A. underworld and even members of his own department to uncover a secret that could shake the city to its rotten core. Using groundbreaking new animation technology that captures every nuance of an actor's facial performance in astonishing detail, L.A. Noire is a violent crime thriller that blends breathtaking action with true detective work to deliver an unprecedented interactive experience. Search for clues, chase down suspects and interrogate witnesses as you struggle to find the truth in a city where everyone has something to hide.
Average Customer Rating:
9
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LA Noire
Review 1 for LA Noire
Impressive Graphics/ No Replay Value
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:01/08/12
MattyBoyGmoney
Location: Victoria BC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is very well done. I've had nothing but good things to say about Rock Star Studios! The progression of starting at Rookie and becoming a Detective is neat! This game is great in the graphics department and story-line but once you've played though it once, that's about it. I must say that the facial expression are about as good as they get, no question! I had a great time playing through the Campaign but i have no reason to replay it. For the price of $19.99 is a good deal. If your the type of person that needs a lot going on or have a hard time focusing, Or just an action hound, this is not the game for u. Thanks for reading and happy gaming :)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Wash That Mouth With BUCKSHOT!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for LA Noire
Amazing game, little re-play value.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:22/06/11
DJPixcell
Location: Newfoundland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was soo excited to get the game, and after receiving and playing, I have to say the game is absolutely amazing. But its not your average game, this is campaign only, there is no online, or co-op play. The game is based around its campaign, and it does very well doing so. The campaign is about an average length of 20 hours or so, if you were super into it.
Whats amazing about the game is the great graphics, and detail through the animation, the story is rich and follows real life stories that happened around the time period, what astounds me to hear is, that 90% of the architecture you see in the game is what you would be seeing in the mid 40's Los Angeles. The detail is truly outstanding.
The map is HUGE, it will easily take you AT LEAST 5 minutes to drive from one end of the map to the other.
The cases are interesting and really make you get into it, you find yourself actually wanting to search every possible area for a clue that will help you track down your killer.
There is plenty of good in this game, and in my opinion its worth it.
The new DLC that is available is bound to push the game-play even more.
I just can't see me playing it once I've beat it, honestly its a great game, there just isn't enough to bring me back to it once I've completed it. But gamer or not, the mid 40's style, and cinema like appeal to the game, you have to play this game. No doubt.
(Highly reccomend the strategy guide for gamers looking to get 100%, clues can be hard to find, believe me!)
 
My Product Recommendations
LA Noire Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LA Noire
Rockstar Always Delivers, But Will This?
Posted on:15/05/11
Anonymous
Location: Calgary
So far LA Noire has had a awful lot of hype built up around it. I can easily see why that is.
Rockstar for the past few years has always brought out games that deliver. Those games have always had a great story line and lots of extra/bonus material that came along with it to keep you busy after you're finished playing the story.
Seeing that Rockstar seems to never let you down, Im sure that LA Noire will keep you busy for hours on end, whether it be from finding all the clues to a case, or achieving that 100% mark, LA Noire will be time consuming and a hit.
I recommend getting the strategy guide with the game so that when you're going through cases you can be certain that you don't miss anything! Or if you're that person that likes to go back for 100% this will make it just that easier for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
LA Noire Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LA Noire
Wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:23/05/11
Anon101
Location: Maple Ridge
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am absolutely blown away. Rockstar games have always delivered, and this is setting a new standard for them. LA Noir is honestly one of the most challenging, fun and intense game I have played in a while. Its beautiful, the facial software they used is intense and shockingly good. The whole figuring out cases by looking for clues and asking questions is just well done. I have played at least 4 hours and i have barely scratched the surface of this game. Buy it, crack down and play it. You will not be dissapointed by this addition to the Rockstar name.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LA Noire
Can't wait!
Posted on:27/02/11
Mastermario15
Location: Calgary, AB
this game looks like it's going to rock! A Noire based crime game set in a perfectly recreated post WWII era L.A. And made by rockstar games? The people who did the epic red dead redemption and gran theft auto games? It's going to be one heck of a good one. I'm now waiting in anticipation for may 17
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LA Noire
Amazing story, no replay value due to it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:03/01/12
Limm
Location: London, ON
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was a full out shock and awe for me the first time I played it.
Each case is almost a full story in its own. But unless there is a way to completely forget about every case there is no point in replaying it. The game is good because of its story and other than that if you know the answers you can stroll through it and it is very dull. Never the less I was very impressed the first time I played through it as I have said and I recommend everyone should check it out. I compare it to Assassin's Creed for its mystery and stalking missions.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LA Noire
You'll like it for a while
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:29/05/11
duckinit12
Location: Toronto, ON
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a fantastic wonderful game from Rockstar. I was hyped to get it and I'm glad I pre ordered it. I recently beat the campaign and it was awesome. After beating however I found that hey there's no reason for me to stay and keep playing. I'm still playing through the police missions but after I get the achievements I want I'll be trading it in. Why? No multiplayer. Nothing for me to do with my friends in it really. I'm waiting for GTA V.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LA Noire
Can't wait!
Posted on:11/05/11
Natty34
Location: Ottawa
Can't wait to play this game it looks really good, I really liked Red dead redemption so i know i will like this one.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LA Noire
This looks awesome!
Posted on:27/02/11
Mastermario15
Location: Canada
it looks like a mix of mafia 2 and red dead redemption. I can't wait till may 17!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mat22
ottawa ,ON
 
Please wait while more information about Mat22 is loaded.
Additional information about Mat22 could not be loaded.
dont buy it !
Posted 05/06/11
I hate it! im gonna trade it in to get a new game this game sucks it always the same thing but with a diffrent crime scene it sucks. and the action is way to short and theyr's no multi player so when your done the game your done for good.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for LA Noire
IT LOOKS SO COOL I WANT TO GET IT
Posted on:02/05/11
za21345
Location: canada ,ON
It looks amazing and i really want it for my systems.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LA Noire
Looks good
Posted on:15/05/11
Thorson
Location: Richmond, BC
I can't wait to get this game. Three more days to go and I have a four day weekend to play this. I hope this is not a let down like most games this year so far. The tech used for this game looks really good with the face capture thing but I think this is the first game by Rockstar where you are a cop and not a crook. This will have to do until Duke Nukem Forever. Too many games this year. Too bad I am only 16, wish EB didn't care but they do oh well I guess I will have to get my grandparents to pick games up for me until two years from now.
Review 12 for LA Noire
Question
Posted on:14/05/11
VPD50
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
I pre-ordered my copy way back in late February. Now either I forgot or was to excited to notice it saying bonus, so I guess now im just paranoid about not getting the bonus case and badge pursuit. does anyone know if they added the pre-order bonus later on, like after february. cuz i really hope I get it, im so jacked for this game, Ive wanted to have a police game for a long time. anyways thanks. Also will it arrive May 17th in Canada too for pre-ordered versions. thanks
Review 13 for LA Noire
Must Buy Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:22/05/11
Albatross
Location: London, Ont
This game is amazing, it will make you think and make you have fun at the same time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LA Noire
This looks ok
Posted on:12/02/11
Wallis
Location: Sarnia, ON
This game looks kind like mafia 2. that game was awesome, this game dosn't look as good as mafia 2 but i might still get it, It looks great. I recomend Mafia 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
0 of 47 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YuMz
 
Please wait while more information about YuMz is loaded.
Additional information about YuMz could not be loaded.
Sorry Guys
Posted 08/03/11
What i heard is that Rockstar games has canceled L,A noire
Comments (1)
Comment (1)